Mindfulness All-Party Parliamentary Group

The Mindfulness All-Party Parliamentary Group (MAPPG) was set up in 2014 with the stated purpose:

To review research evidence, current best practice, extent and success of implementation, and potential developments in the application of mindfulness within a range of policy areas, and to develop policy recommendations for government based on these findings. 

All-Party Parliamentary Groups (APPGs) are informal cross-party groups of UK politicians who join together to pursue a particular topic or interest area. They are essentially run by and for Members of the Commons and Lords, although many groups involve individuals and organisations from outside Parliament in their administration and activities. The secretariat of the Mindfulness All-Party Parliamentary Group is provided by the Mindfulness Initiative.

 MAPPG Co-Chairs

Tim Loughton 1 1 88Tim Loughton MP (Conservative)

Member of Parliament (MP) for East Worthing and Shoreham since the 1997. Member of the Home Affairs Select Committee. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Children and Families from 2010-2012.


ChrisRuane smallChris Ruane MP (Labour)

Member of Parliament (MP) for The Vale of Clwyd and Shadow Minister (Wales). Chris was a deputy head in a large primary school for 15 years prior to being MP. He introduced mindfulness to Parliament with Prof Lord Richard Layard.

MAPPG Officers

Lord howarth 1 1 88Secretary: Lord Alan Howarth of Newport



Lord Stone 1 1 88Treasurer: Lord Andrew Stone of Blackheath



NicDakin 1 1 88Vice-chair: Nic Dakin MP



Jim Fitzpatrick 1 1 88Vice-chair: Jim Fitzpatrick MP



Diana Johnson 1 1 88Vice-chair: Diana Johnson MP



Jessica Morden 1 1Vice-chair: Jessica Morden MP



AnnaHealey 1 1 88Vice-chair: Baroness Anna Healey of Primrose Hill



Lord Layard 1 1 88Vice-chair: Professor Lord Richard Layard



ruthlister 1 1 88Vice-chair: Baroness Ruth Lister of Burtersett